The track was looking good and the set-up was still fresh from the day before; nothing was stopping the seniors for the last and final round of the Make Smoking History State Senior Motocross Championship Series. Another day of pink tutu’s and pink ribbon in support of The National Breast Cancer Foundation, which was splendid to see on the day. The Manjimup Motorcycle Club on the Sunday put on a stunning display of sportsmanship from the committee, officials, flaggies, canteen staff and every other volunteer at the event. The racing was spectacular from those wanting to lead in the championship and see a podium finish. Racing did finish after the second round due to a critical incident that occurred and unfortunately the rider did not recover from the injuries sustained. WAMX applaud everyone for their efforts and understanding on the day and continued support now.

The Amateur Cup had a good start on the day with Taine Kings leading the way in the first moto, passing Stefan Weiszbach who dropped into third position behind Declan Hepworth who pushed into second. Brandon Campbell, Jake Gardiner, Jacob Jones, Andrea Monti and Jeremy Hammer all displayed some great racing with all riders moving up at least a position within the first moto. The second moto saw Declan Hepworth rise up and take first position followed suit by Weiszbach and then Jaxon Hawily this time while Taine Kings dropped back a few places. The third and final race for the Amateur Cup gave motivation for some as it was the last race of the season. Taine Kings managed to grab first position with Cameron Chave in second and Declan Hepworth in third. Final podium:

1st Declan Hepworth #273
2nd Taine Kings #929
3rd Brandon Campbell #232

The Brutum Logistics Quad class was on fire at Manjimup. Thirteen riders lined up at the gates ready for some fierce competing. Chris Bosnakis lead the way I the first race, followed by Blake Croonen and then Jakob Bosustow. Michael Murphy and Flynn Burton had a couple of battles between themselves, but Michael managed to take fourth position over Flynn. Impressive riding from Jae Dowsett who came from last place all the way to sixth position by the end of the race. Namo Leao passed Anthony Case and Sienna Comito to land eight position. Everyone kept their cool in the second moto with most just keeping a steady pace. Chris Bosnakis took out first place with Blake Croonen in second and then Jae Dowsett in third. Sienna Comito made her way from the back of the pack to land and incredible sixth position. The third and final race on the day was a battle for the championship which saw many fight hard and proud to finish with their final results. Final podium:

1st Chris Bosnakis #1
2nd Black Croonen #27
3rd Jakob Bosustow #20

The Cully’s Yamaha Women’s Class showcased the best of the women in Western Australia. Kara Cats dominated the first race with Megan Bagnall following closely behind and then an impressive last-minute move by Hannah Bagnall to who passed her sister to finish second while Megan took third place for the first moto. Jasmine Clark passed Tracey Mason and secured eighth place while Tracey finished ninth. The second race of the day saw some fierce competition between Kara, Hannah and Megan who all had their eyes on landing a podium finish. Kara took out the win though at the end of the race with Hannah in second and Megan third. Storme Green, Teleisha Outram, and Charlie Blee all managed to move up a position thanks to Chippa Ebert who unfortunately dropped a few places. But nevertheless, there was some great display of riding and it was a good day for the women. Final podium:

1st Kara Cats #655
2nd Hannah Bagnall #623
3rd Megan Bagnall #4

The NR Metal Recycling MX1 Class saw champion rider Regan Duffy take out both races on the day followed by top W.A rider Josh Adams. The first race saw Regan and Josh keep their distance from the rest of the mx riders, however that didn’t stop some from pushing hard and going fast to put on a spectacular showcase. Michael Mahon moved from fifth place to land third position in the first race followed by Joel Green in fourth and John Darroch in fifth. Oliver James had some great riding, starting from sixteenth to secure eighth position. The second race on the day had Regan and Josh keep first and second with John Darroch in third. Michael Mahon dropped a place however came back fighting and got fourth place. Cameron Willsher rolled the throttle hard and secured ninth place over Steven Bowen who also had some good racing on the day. Final podium:

1st Regan Duffy #72
2nd Josh Adams #5
3rd Michael Mahon #19

The Beautiful Kitchen Designs and Diamond Printing Masters Class had fantastic competition between the riders. Being a spectator on the day, it was a wild guess as to who would have landed the final championship podium places in the end. Brett Graham pushed forward in the combine race on the day however secured first position for the Masters class. Hot on his tail though was Marc Payne and Peter Freight who took out second and third positions. Michel Drean, Peter Nelson, Mark Linning and Trevor Unstead displayed great mx riding as well. The second race was great with every rider keeping to their same position as to the previous race. Final podium:

1st Brett Graham #375
2nd Marc Payne #576
3rd Peter Freight #615

The Beautiful Kitchen Designs and Diamond Printing Veterans Class saw Ben Hothersall battle it out with James Craig in the first race, taking out first position over James in second. Aaron Chircop, Paul Smithson and Martin Costa kept at a steady pace with riders securing third, fourth and fifth position. Ben made his way to the top again for the second race on the day with James following closely in second and Aaron in third. Paul had a smooth sailing into fourth position over Martin Costa who was only second behind him. Final Podium:

1st Ben Hothersall #919
2nd James Craig #80
3rd Aaron Chircop #192

The Motul and Pirelli MX2 Class was champion all day. Riders tried their best and put on a stunning display of riding and sportsmanship. This class develops the best of the west for WAMX and it showed on the day. Regan Duffy took out all races on the day with Corben Weinert in second and Rhys Burnett in third. From taking out the Junior Championship in the previous year, Rhys was on fire on the day with demonstrating the spectacular skills he possessed. Daniel Pajewski secured fourth position over Seth Manuel who managed sixth place. Corben again took out second in the second moto with Rhys again in third place. It was a struggle from fourth onwards for the rest of the MX2 riders with many going back and forth. Conan Forrester and Dylan Hennessey had a good race with both riders moving up a few places. Final Podium:

1st Regan Duffy #72
2nd Corben Weinert #42
3rd Rhys Burnett #14

WAMX would like to thank everyone from the Manjimup Motorcycle Club for putting on a great double header and their support over the weekend; everyone from the flaggies, canteen, first aid, spectators, officials and everyone else in between, we thank you for your understanding on the Sunday. A massive thank you to the sponsors for this year for helping put on the Western Australian State Motocross Championship Series for both Juniors and Seniors. Please stay tuned for information regarding the presentations for WAMX.

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.