Jayden Rykers MX2

Make Smoking History 2015 WAMX Series opener lived up to the expectations of many, when the gates dropped on the 24 motos for the day.

Timed qualifying was introduced for the very first time, adding an extra incentive for the riders for their first gate picks of the day.



The Veteran Class started the series and James Craig didnt get the best of starts but made up for it during the course of the motos and took a clean sweep (1-1-1) with Ben Hothersall back racing (2-2-2) and finsishing second with Dean Castlehow third for the day. Trevor Unstead was back on his home track and finished fourth with Brendon Parnham, Nick Stone and Tim Dunstan fighting out behind.

James Craig 105
Ben Hothersall 96
Dean Castlehow 88



The Quad Championship fielded a huge gate and with the first gate drop came three sensational races battled between defending champ Chris Bosnakis and previous champ Luke Gaisford. Both riders going head to head with Gaisford securing the round win (2-1-1) and Bosnakis second (1-2-2) and Josh McKay third. Shaun Woodhead was on fire but unable to quite capitalize and Daniel Soltoggio finished strong in fifth ahead of Tyron Robertson and Ben Hall.

Luke Gaisford 102
Chris Bosnakis 99
Josh McKay 86


Intermediate Lites

Intermediate Lites had many of last years top Junior riders making the move into Seniors, and Jacob Schaafsma (1-2-2) was one such rider taking the opening moto, pushed by Jaden Tate, Mario Dercole, Kenlen Youl, Jordan Doutch and Kurt Baxter. Schaafsma took the podium win with Jaden Tate second and Mario Dercole securing the third step of the podium.

Jacob Schaafsma 99
Jaden Tate 86
Mario Dercole 85


Clubman Lites

Clubman Lites belonged to Jason Meagher (1-1-2) taking the round win with Alex Christie second (2-2-3) with Jake McKay picking up third for the day. Cameron Willsher took the final moto win and the Esperance crowd went crazy when their local rider took the chequers. Kane Doyle, Josh Nicoletto, Thomas leeson and Brayden Hahn were all on the pipe, and putting in some fast laps.

Jason Meagher 102
Alex Christie 94
Jake McKay 86



The highly anticipated MX2 class lived up to all the hype, and whilst defending champ Jayden Rykers had to work hard for the round win (1-1-1), Connor Tierney was sensational on debut, with Dylan Heard silencing the critics, Jack Taylor the surprise package, James Craig the outsider and Jesse Hogan much improved. Tierney was on fire with his starts, before Rykers chased him down, Tierney thou fought back and picked up second for the day with Dylan securing third. Jake Fewster put a few on notice and was in contention (3-3-0) until mechanical failure in the final moto ended his charge for the podium. Ryan Scarlett on debut in the MX2 class had a day he would rather forget with mechanical issues and Baylee Webb too havng bike issues.

Jayden Rykers 105
Connor Tierney 96
Dylan Heard 81


Clubman Open

Clubman Open and Jason Meagher took out the opening race, but the results shook up the championship when the second moto was red flagged and rerun with a 2 lap sprint. Local rider Brendan Morcombe had the crowd on their feet when he secured the last race of the day and that result was enough for Morcombe to take the round win ahead of Jason Meagher, Callum Evans, Caleb Mills and Brent Davison.

Brendan Morcombe 102
Jason Meagher 92
Callum Evans 90


Intermediate Open

Intermediate Open. Aaron Chircop set himself up well taking the first two moto wins and finished fourth in the race, these resulst (1-1-4) was enough to take the round win from Justin Parker (4-4-3) and local rider Matt Rowlands third for the day. Anthony Rubotham, Brock Nelson, kahn Cutts and Hayden Scoby-Smith put in some great rides with Adam Smith, Bryce Williams and Luke Rowe.

Aaron Chircop 98
Justin Parker 86
Matt Rowlands 83



MX1 Connor Tierney was the fastest qualifier in the class and the scene was soon set for three absolute blinder motos. Mitch Taylor was the holeshot pace setter with Robbo Lovett, Dean Porter, Louis Calvin, Paul Humberston, Craig Bolton and Kyle Webster. With the opening moto extremely fast, Porter and Robbo Lovett dictated the terms and Porter made the pass on Lovett to take the win with Lovett securing second and Connor Tierney third. Louis Calvin finshed in fourth with Webster in fifth. Craig Bolton, Taylor, Humberston, Liam Whisler and Charlie Creech in tenth.

The second moto in the shorter format had the riders on the gas, but also having to think about line selection in a track that was roughing up. Robbo Lovett was the real deal taking the moto win from Paul Humberston, Dean Porter and Louis Calvin.

In the last race of the day and the third moto for the MX1 class, the track was now, very one lined, and difficult to pass. Defending champ Kyle Webster crashed out in motos 1 and 2 losing valuable points, redeemed himself with an outstanding ride in the last moto to take the win. The epic battle between Porter and Webster was worthy of a championship performance- and both delivered. Porter soon stormed through the pack to take over the lead and Webster was soon hunting him down. For the next twenty minute moto there would be 2-3 seconds lead to Porter before Webster made his move in the dying stages to take over the lead and win by 4 seconds. Robbo Lovett held firm for third and Craig Bolton took out fourth with Connor Tierney fifth followed by Calvin, Heilers, Humberston, Luke Few and Charlie Creech. Both Dean Porter (1-3-2) and Robbo Lovett (2-1-3) finished on equal points and Connor Tierney and Louis Calvin also on equal points.

Dean Porter 97
Robbo Lovett 97
Connor Tierney 81

Full Championship Results: http://www.mylaps.com/en/championships/7970

Photos: Gordon Pettigrew / True Spirit Images

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.