Smarter than Smoking WAMX Senior Round 3 Results

Round 3 of the Smarter Than Smoking WAMX from Bunbury, South of Perth again threw up challenges from all classes, and even some surprise winners. The halfway point for season 2014 asked a lot from many riders, and the answers came through in the form of shake up in the classes, as the championship series is certainly alive and kicking!.

Pro Open/MX 1

The Pro Open/MX1 was certain to through up challenges, yet no-one picked local riders to shine in the premiere class. Series leader and defending champion Louis Calvin was put on notice from local rider Reece Colgan (1-1-2) who blew the field away including some very good starts on which he was able to capitalize his position and went on to take the round win.

In Moto 1 Reece Colgan took the lead after a great holeshot. Local rider Tim Bell slotted into second from Stevie Heilers and Louis Calvin. The first corner claimed Kyle Webster and Ash Whisler who came together, that would thwart their moto results with both riders having to battle their way back through the pack.

Calvin soon reeled in Tim Bell to make the pass to move into second position, whilst Stevie Heilers pipped Tim Bell to take third place over the line.

The second race again belonged to Reece Colgan although taking the early lead; Colgan found himself keeping Tim Bell at bay and Mitch Taylor. Bell slotted into second position, whilst Louis Calvin struggled with his start in the sprint format of moto two and found himself mid pack. Taylor got himself into a great position before crashing out allowing Paul Humberston into third until he too crashed which allowed Calvin to move up into third place with Kyle Webster into fourth and Stevie Heilers on fifth place.

Reece Colgan took the holeshot and early race lead for the third race with Mitch Taylor and Charlie Creech with Kyle Webster. Louis Calvin had his work cut out for him making various passes through the pack. Kyle Webster was in fine form in the last race passing Taylor for the lead and taking the race win ahead of Colgan, Louis Calvin, Mitch Taylor and Paul Humberston in fifth.

The days results were also buoyed by strong rides from Brett Norton, Tyson Whincup , Daniel Woodward and Ash Whisler. Reece Colgan took the round win from series leader and defending champion Louis Calvin with Tim Bell grabbing the third step of the podium.

Pro Lites/MX2

Defending champion Josh Adams didn’t get the starts he wanted, as local rider Wade Shepherd leapt out of the gates in the first race to collect the holeshot. Josh Adams moved into the lead bringing Scott Kramer with him as Kyle Webster and series leader Jayden Rykers battled. Webster and Kramer came together which ended Kramer’s day and in doing so, put Webster well behind the field. The incident allowed Rykers to move into second and try and make the charge on Adams, time would be the determining factor as Josh Adams took the win from Rykers and Dylan Heard.

Race two saw the shorter six lap sprint where again Wade Shepard holeshotted the moto with Jake Pruiti getting a solid start ahead of Josh Adams. Pruiti soon slotted into the lead with Adams into second, it would be momentary as Pruiti crashed out allowing Josh Adams for the moto lead and eventual win. This brought Dylan Heard into the equation into second before a hard charging Jayden Rykers made a quick pass on Heard to pick up and take over second place whilst Heard came home in third place.

Series leader Jayden Rykers dominated the final moto taking the holeshot and a substantial lead from Dylan Heard and Josh Adams. Kyle Webster was soon carving through the field with Jake Pruiti. By moto end Jayden Rykers would take the win from Kyle Webster, Josh Adams, Dylan Heard and Jake Pruiti. Josh Adams picked up first for the day with Jayden Rykers second and Dylan Heard for third place.


Defending champion Jess Moore made her long awaited return to racing after being sidelined this season through injury. She wasted no time in grabbing the lead in moto one from series leader Courtney Hirst. Both riders were brilliant changing positions through the moto with Hirst taking the win just prior to the chequered flag from Jess Moore, Shelley Connor, Chelsea Blakers and Hannah Bagnall.

Telisha Outram grabbed the holeshot in moto two as Court Hirst took the early race lead before crashing out. This allowed Jess Moore to take over the lead whilst Chelsea Blakers too crashed in the race, followed by Shelley Connor. Both Yamaha riders feverishly trying to get their bikes started and going again in the deep sand. By motos end it was Jess Moore with the win from Court Hirst, Hannah Bagnall, Shelley Connor and Teleisha Outram.

Race three would be the decider for the day’s overall results, and Jess Moore was determined to make it hers. The script was written at the gate drop with Moore slipping into the lead with ease, seeming to revel in the rougher track conditions. Jess Moore would take the final moto from Court Hirst Chelsea Blakers, Shelley Connor and Hannah Bagnall. Jess Moore took the round win from Court Hirst and Shelley Connor.

Support Classes

Scott Pretichevich continued his winning form in the Pro Vets with some great racing from James Craig, Paul Smithson and Scott Kostin, whilst Troy Deer was strong on the Clubman vets dicing with Tim Dunstan, Shaun Baxter and Colin Greedy.

Intermediate Lites belonged to home town hero Ryan Scarlett who was pushed all day by Jake Fewster, Jesse Free, Dylan Lowry and Jack Perkusich, whilst in the Clubman Lites, there were great battles from Scott Jackman, Jack Turner, Troy Rumens, Kaleb Richdale and Adam Fanderlinden.

Clubman Open racing was shaken up with Aaron Chircop (1-1-2) making his return to the racing fore with some top class racing with Dylan Fernihough (5-2-1), Brodie Harnett, Brody Grothues, Jesse Line and Sam De Vries. Intermediate Opens was a series of three very tough and tight races with Dylan Young (1-3-2) challenged by Curtis Dejong who took motos 2 and 3 victories yet was put under plenty of pressure from Jake Konsolis, Joel Johns, Stefen Weiszbach, Kieren Stabback, Dexter Jones and Tom Lilly.

Voted the best round for the last two years, the Bunbury Motorcycle Club hosted yet another perfect state championship round. The racing threw up many different results, with riders answering the challenges that were thrown up. It was another round were the tipsters were left shaking their heads. The points chase is definitely on, with no rider safe to rest on their laurels!

The next round heads to the hardpacked surface at the Geraldton MX Club, a great facility and a sensational and very fast track.

Round 4 – Geraldton is on Sunday the 6th of July – Entries close 25th June 2014

Classes are Pro Open; Pro Lite; Int Open; Int Lite; Club Lite; Quad Champ; Womens