Coastal Park in Henderson did not disappoint us on the weekend – with clear skies and a chill in the morning air.  The atmosphere was electric from the start – antics and good natured banter in the pits between our top Contenders set the scene for the day. All the spectators were treated to very fast, high flying, gut churning racing action – with not one rider willing to give one little inch.

First to hit the sand were The Cullys Yamaha Women’s Championship and Tahlia O’Hare set the pace but Kara Cats & Lily Kent were very determined not let her get away.  Bike problems in the Sprint Round saw Tahlia finish 5th and a very happy Kara took the round win.  Tahlia bounced back for the final round and took the lead with battles galore behind her between Megan Bagnall, Kara & Lily.  In the end Kara Cats took the day’s win by 1 point from Tahlia and Lily Kent taking out third.

The Cullys Yamaha Women’s Championship finished 2018 with:-

Tahlia O’Hare taking the Championship on 612 points

Kara Cats in 2nd place on 559 points

Lily Ken in 3rd place on 520 points.

20 Quads looked very impressive lined up on the gates for the final round of The Brutum Logistics Quad Championship.  Luke Gaisford was impressive all day and this time his quad stayed together and with 3 wins, the day was his.  Series leader Chris Bosnakis had the Championship lead sewn up but came out to play and put in the solid racing to take 2nd on the day.  Blake Croonen kept up the pressure and it paid off with a 3rd for the day. Our only female quad rider, Jemma Merrylees put in a solid effort to take out 11th place for the day and also in the championship against a full grid of men.

The Brutum Logistics Quad Championship finished 2018 with:-

Chris Bosnakis taking the Championship on 599 points

Luke Gaisford in 2nd place on 471 points

Blake Croonen in 3rd place on 466 points

Our Make Smoking History Veterans and Masters returned for their final round at Coastal Park. James Craig continue his dominance in the Masters Class over Trevor Unstead & Marc Payne all day long.  In the Veterans Class Scott Petricevich did the same over Martin Costa and Paul Smithson. With these two Championships racing together there were some epic battles between Masters James Craig and Veteran Scott Petricevich determined to get one up on the other.

The Make Smoking History Masters Champions for 2018 are

James Craig winning the Championship on 420 points

Trevor Unstead in 2nd place on 364 points

Marc Payne in 3rd place on 338 points.

The Make Smoking History Veterans Championship finished with

Scott Petricevich winning on 411 points

Martin Costa in 2nd place on 362 points

Paul Smithson in 3rd place on 324 points

It was game on for The Motul/Pirelli MX2 Championship Class from the moment the gates dropped.  Both Mitchell Outram and Billy Middleton were on a mission to keep Mat Fabry in their sights.  There were some epic battles in every race with Mat having a moment in the second race which saw Mitchell hit the finish line first. Young Dylan Hennessey & Cody Heggs were on point all day. Mat took the day’s win 1 point from Mitchell in 2nd and Billy Middleton in 3rd.

The Motul/Pirelli MX2 Championships for 2018

1st Place – Mat Fabry on 613 points

2nd Place – Mitchell Outram on 529 points

3rd Place – Billy Middleton

The ground thundered underneath the 450cc machines in the Planet Honda MX1 Championship Class yesterday. #208 Josh Adams’ goal soon became evident that it was to make Series leader #30 David Birch work hard for the win – he was on fire! There were hearts in mouths during the 3 rounds as the leaders changed, speed levels increased, chances were taken. This class were in full battle mode and the top 10 riders did not mess around – there were valuable points to be had and these warriors were taking them all.  Josh Adams took the win for the day by 2 points from David Birch for 2nd place and Charlie Creech in 3rd another 2 points behind.

The Planet Honda MX1 Champions for 2018 are

#1 – David Birch – 582 points

#2 – Charlie Creech – 519 points

#3 – Stevie Heilers – 466 points

The Series is done for 2018 and was celebrated yesterday in a wave of spraying champagne and some very high spirits.

The coveted Jamie Brockman Award for 2018 was awarded to Kara Cats.

The 2018 Senior Highest Points Award and the 2018 Club of the Year Awards will be presented at the MWA Night of Champions.

CONGRATULATIONS to our 2018 Champions – awesome racing all season long and we look forward to seeing you all in 2019!!

A huge thank you to all of our Riders & their families, Sponsors both big & small, our Officials, Photographers, Clubs, Commentators for your help and assistance throughout the 2018 Make Smoking History Series.  That’s a wrap for 2018

Pictures:  True Spirit Photos

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.