Round 2 of WAMX from Byford, South of Perth kicked off under sensational autumn weather.

The day had it all, and a great crowd was on hand to witness the second round of the prestigious WAMX Healthways Smarter Than Smoking State Championships.

The hard packed track at Hendley Park Byford had undergone many recent changes ready to challenge all riders, and the riders readily accepted the challenge in their quest for championship points and a place on the podium.

Pro Open/MX 1
The Pro Open/MX1 sharp shooters were never going to stop Louis Calvin, who took the first moto by an easy 29 seconds over defending champions Dean Porter back in the WAMX for the first time this season still nursing that troublesome ankle. Third placed Paul Humbertson tried to narrow the gap but was unable to catch the number 1 plate holder in Porter. Kyle Webster picked up fourth ahead of Josh Adams, Stevie Heilers, Craig Bolton, Ash Whisler and David Birch. Luke Davis had a shocker finishing in 11th.

In moto 2, all were on their feet cheering when Dean Porter stormed out of the gates to lead the final moto of the day. Porter was unable to keep the KTM of Louis Calvin at bay as the #9 machine leapt by to take over the lead. Louis went on to take the moto win in convincing fashion. Dean Porter finished in second ahead of Stevie Heilers, Kyle Webster Craig Bolton and Jarrod Hockley. Luke Davis finished 7th with Jake Watling making a welcome return in 8th, Mitch Taylor in 9th and Josh Adams picking up 10th place.

The hard luck of the day certainly went to the riders caught up in an on track crash. Ash Whisler came to grief in the loose surface and parted company with his bike. Whilst Whisler escaped the onslaught of bikes, other riders were not so lucky as they were unable to avoid the downed machine and crashed out. Shaun Cornick, Ash Whisler, Jack Zahra and Tyson Whincup, all of whom crashed out on contention and DNF-ed the final moto.

Pro Lites/MX2
It was former Pro Lites/MX2 Champion Josh Adams who leapt out of the gates to the holeshot and early lead with Kyle Webster and Jayden Rykers in hot pursuit. Young gun Webster was able to narrow the gap and make the pass on Adams whilst Jayden Rykers in his debut Senior year went down allowing Robbo Lovett through to take over third place. With the laps ticking down, Josh Adams succumbed to the track and put the KTM down which saw Lovett slip through. Adams remounted back into third place but was unable to close the gap on Lovett. Kyle Webster threw himself into championship contention with an outstanding win, over Robbo Lovett and Josh Adams. Series leader Craig Bolton finished fourth with Tim Bell rounding out the top five. Jayden Rykers despite his moto crash finished in sixth David Birch in seventh, Daniel Shrimp came home in 8th ahead of Reece Colgan and Charlie Creech.

In moto 2, 2011 MX2/Pro Lite Champion David Birch pulled the holeshot and took the early lead. Jayden Rykers closed the gap reeling in Birch and made the pass to go on and take a very convincing win. Kyle Webster in third place tried his heart out to catch Birch but was unable to gain the edge. By moto finish it was Rykers ahead of Birch with Kyke Webster picking up a steady third. Robbo Lovett finished in fourth ahead of Tim Bell, Daniel Shrimp, Charlie Creech in 7th, Dylan Heard in 8th, Jonty Thomas and Dylan Sexton. Shane Murray who has been riding well this season DNF this moto with Craig Bolton who had a horror run as the series points leader coming into round 2.

Fresh from her outstanding result at the Women’s World MX Championship, defending champ and series points leader Jess Moore took out the women’s first moto ahead of Shelley Conner and Storme Greene. 2011 Champion Chelsea Blakers got caught up in a mid pack tangle which saw here lose valuable ground in the moto and importantly championship points as well. Dimity Lee Duke crossed the line in fourth with Blakers coming through the pack to pick up fifth place. In moto 2 a determined Chelsea Blakers grabbed the holeshot and led the Women’s moto class before Jess Moore re grouped to take over the moto lead and go on to win the race ahead of Chelsea Blakers in second and third placed Shelley Connor. Teleisha Outram challenged Connor but could only manage fourth ahead of Dimity Lee Duke.

The Quad Championship heralded the return of Luke Gaisford. Race 1 was taken out by Chris Bosnakis who finished some 27 seconds ahead of Luke Gaisford, series leader Anthony Pearce, Paddy McNally, Mat Robbins.
Moto 2 had Luke Gaisford lining up for his 100th moto start in senior racing. Gaisford who relished the challenge, stormed out of the gates to take the holeshot and was never challenged as he went on to take the moto win ahead of series leader Anthony Pearce, Lindsay McDonnell Johan Foord and Chris Bosnakis. In the Clubman Quads Moto one and two results were a carbon copy with Daniel Soltoggio picking up first, Jemma Merrylees, second and Brendon Reynolds in third.

Carson Bascombe took out moto one in the Intermediate Clubman Opens ahead of Justin Parker, Jordan Doutch, Callum Alford and Oliver James. The second moto belonged to Jordan Doutch who rode the wheels off the bike to take over the moto lead and eventual race from Carson Bascombe Justin Parker, Naon Migall and Jesse Attwell.

In moto one of the Veterans it was Lance Arrowsmith who took the win ahead of Steve Mouritz, Scott Petricevich, Trevor Unstead and Paul Smithson. Moto two was dominated by Lance Arrowsmith ahead of Paul Smithson, Scott Petricevich and Trevor Unstead.

Clubman Opens had Scott Hewitt out of the starting gates and leading the class all day with Jack Michelson in second over the line from Damien O’Brien, Danny Mayes and Stuart McDonald in fifth place. Moto two results had Hewitt first with Nathaniel Keen second ahead of Damien O’Brien, Darryl Mullins and Danny Mayes who came home in fifth place.

Clubman Lites moto one was won by Bradd Parkinson with Tom Lilly in second, hard charging Keagan Williamson in third ahead of Brodie Smedley and Brody Grothues. Moto two in the Clubman Lites belonged to Bradd Parkinson who took the win from Brody Grothues who fought back hard in this moto to keep Brody Smedley in third, Keagan Williamson fourth and Mitch DiCarlo home in fifth place.

Izaac Jones was never headed all day picked up Intermediate Lites moto one win ahead of Jess Moore, Jackson McGrath and Jacob Smith. Moto two had Jones checking out early with Blair Outram the big mover through the pack to finish in second ahead of Jacob Smith, Mario D’Ercole and Jess Moore.

The normal three race program was modified after considerable time was lost trying to cut a new section into the track, to avoid some damaged machinery caught on the circuit.

Under very trying conditions and extremely unusual circumstances, the officials and the club are to be commended for allowing the day to continue when it easily could have been cancelled.
The sand specialist riders now look forward to the deep sands at Shrubland Park Bunbury for the third round of the Healthways Smarter Than Smoking WAMX State Championships which heads to WA’s South West on June 23rd. The Championship marks its halfway point in the season, and Bunbury always turns on the best racing and massive crowds.

Full championship results can be found here.

Round 2 Results

Pro Open/MX1
1 Louis Calvin 50
2 Dean Porter 44
3 Kyle Webster 36
4 Stevie Heilers 35
5 Craig Bolton 30

Pro Lite MX/2
1 Kyle Webster 45
2 Jayden Rykers 40
3 Robbo Lovett 40
4 David Birch 36
5 Tim Bell 32

Quad Championship
1 Luke Gaisford 47
2 Anthony Pearce 42
3 Chris Bosnakis 41
4 L MacDonnell 34
5Shaun Woodhead 30

Womens Championship
1 Jess Moore 50
2 Shelley Connor 42
3 Chelsea Blakers 38
4 Storme Greene 33
5 Dimity Lee Duke 34

Article: Nicki Shea-Howell
Images: Gordon Pettigrew True Spirit Photos