Connor Tierney

It may well be Mother’s Day this Sunday, but the WA home of the MX Nationals, AJS Wanneroo is ensuring a day of celebrations for the mum’s alongside hosting the prestigious 2015 Make Smoking History Senior State Championships Series second round.

The second of the sand tracks visited by the series this year is the renowned AJS. A track that is loved by many, and also feared and respected by those who dare to try! On a track surface that is as tough as it is unforgiving. Will the riders live up to challenge presented?

Club President Ken Brierley is prepared for Sunday, ensuring the track is 100% ready for the onslaught. “With 220 plus riders expected to line up here on Sunday, the track is ready and waiting. We have the facility looking amazing, and we are also hosting a Mother’s Day Morning tea for the mum’s who attend. The Club hasn’t had a round of the state championship here for a couple of year’s, so we are ready for Round 2 this Sunday”.

Let’s preview the riders and what we may expect this Sunday. With one round in the bag from last month;s Esperance opener, plenty have used the time to train in the sand surfaced tracks in WA.

With James Craig leading the Veteran Class he will need to be on his game, with plenty of the local AJS riders racing, and with Ben Hothersall holding down second, and Dean Castlehow third in the Championship. You can expect the resilient Trevor Unstead, Brendon Parnham and Tim Dunstan to continue their charge at Wanneroo.

Huge gates were the order of the day at round 1, and with three outstanding motos from foes defending champ Chris Bosnakis and previous champ Luke Gaisford. It will be back on! Gaisford has the lead with Bosnakis in second and Josh McKay in third. Expect some friendly shots from Shaun Woodhead, Daniel Soltoggio and Tyron Robertson, plus some local riders ready to make an assault on home turf.

Luke Gaisford 102
Chris Bosnakis 99
Josh McKay 86

Intermediate Lites series leader Jacob Schaafsma will need to have his starts dialled in with Jaden tate holding second and Mario Dercole in third in the standings. There are so many riders capable of taking the win, with a result to close to call, yet keep your eye on riders Kenlen Youl, Jordan Doutch and Kurt Baxter. All very strong at round 1.

Jacob Schaafsma 99
Jaden Tate 86
Mario Dercole 85

All eyes will be on the first corner at AJS for the Clubman Lites, as holding the lead is Jason Meagher taking the opening round win from Alex Christie second and Jake McKay picking up third for the day. With so many local riders pulling on the boots for this round it will be a surprise package, with Kane Doyle, Josh Nicoletto, Thomas Leeson and Brayden Hahn all consistent at Esperance.

Jason Meagher 102
Alex Christie 94
Jake McKay 86

If we thought Round 1 was the anticipated round of the MX2 class showdown, well round 2 is about to shake the AJS foundations. Defending champ and series Jayden Rykers had to work hard for the round win at Esperance with Connor Tierney outstanding was sensational on debut. Both riders have continued that form asthey contest the MX Nationals on the east coast, and it is expected to remain so this Sunday at Wanneroo. Dylan Heard could be the x factor, yet he will need to keep sand specialist Jack Taylor behind him and the dynamic Jake Fewster, who will relish the conditions. yet with a few tricks up their sleeves, Jesse Hogan, Ryan Scarlett and Baylee Webb may just steal the show!

Jayden Rykers 105
Connor Tierney 96
Dylan Heard 81

In the Clubman Open class, you can expect plenty of the AJS riders to come out and support the class. Round one was taken out by local Esperance rider Brendan Morcombe, who is the series leader heading into Sunday’s race meet. Jason Meagher, Callum Evans, Caleb Mills and Brent Davison were all strong at round 1 and again, a race win is too hard to predict for Sunday!

Brendan Morcombe 102
Jason Meagher 92
Callum Evans 90

In Intermediate Open class, series leader Aaron Chircop has the target on his back with Justin Parker in second and Matt Rowlands third in the series. Those who love a rough and rutted track, will shine at AJS, and Anthony Rubotham, Brock Nelson, Kahn Cutts and Hayden Scoby-Smith will need to have the race faces on to keep out the challenges expected from riders Adam Smith, Bryce Williams and Luke Rowe.

Aaron Chircop 98
Justin Parker 86
Matt Rowlands 83

The blockbuster MX1 class has Dean Porter and Robbo Lovett heading in to the second round on equal points from Connor Tierney and Louis Calvin. Defending champ Kyle Webster had a shocker at the opening round, despite taking out the final moto in sublime fashion at Esperance. At AJS, you keep the slightly door ajar, as anything can and will happen. Mitch Taylor will be at his holeshot dominating best at AJS, yet Paul Humberston, Craig Bolton and Kyle Webster, Stevie Heilers, Liam Whisler and Charlie Creech are worthy opponents ready to pounce at every, and any opportunity this Sunday.

Dean Porter 97
Robbo Lovett 97
Connor Tierney 81

Spectator Entry: $10 for Adults with kids under 16 Free. Please note that mechanic/rider passes are valid until 7.30am on race day.

Racing from 9.30am with a full support race program.

Full Bar and Canteen facilities and No BYO.

This is a Smoke Free Event

Full series results can be found here. More information on WAMX Facebook Page.

Live Timing to your mobile phone or tablet through the My Laps App:

Host Club: AJS Motorcycle Club located Wattle Avenue East Neerabup (Next to Barbagallo Raceway)

2015 Calendar Seniors
Round 1 – 5th April – Esperance MCC, Shark Lake, Esperance
Round 2 – 10th May – AJS MCC, Wattle Ave, Wanneroo
Round 3 – 21st June – Lightweight MCC – Hendley Park Byford
Round 4 – 26th July – Beverley & Dist MCC – Nicholas Street, Beverley
Round 5 – 16th August – Bunbury MCC – Shrubland Park, Bunbury
Round 6 – 20th September Coastal MCC – Cockburn Road, Henderson

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.