Round 2 of the “Smarter Than Smoking” Western Australian Motocross Junior State Championship series was hosted by the Bunbury Motorcycle Club last Sunday. Junior riders, teams and families came from all over the state to the Shrubland Park Motocross Track in the pursuit of valuable 2014 championship points contested over 6 state rounds. The 24 event race programme included 8 race classes with competitor ages ranging from 7 to 16 years old and machine classes from 50cc auto to 250cc in size. A big crowd favourite was the non- competitive 50cc Auto Demo class with riders over the age of 4 years proudly demonstrating their motocross skills on a shorten track.

The race day started early with a riders meeting and drizzly rain falling clearing up to only an odd light shower throughout the day perfect conditions for motocross racing. The action soon heated up with lots of very fast and close competition with all riders racing hard chasing points for the state title. The quality of racing from our juniors clearly indicates a very strong future for the sport of motocross on a state and national basis was just one of many comments made by the BMCC and state officials on the day.

A stand out performance by Connor Tierney GMCC on his Husqvarna number 1 saw him take out the 250cc 15 Yrs. class with local KTM rider Stuart Eardley-Wilmot a close second and Baylee Webb third.

250cc 13-u15. Justin Hart LWMCC first with three wins Tom West second and Billy Middleton third.

100cc-125cc 13-u16 Yrs. Fantastic riding again by Connor Tierney GMCC coming in first with the super-fast number 60 Caleb Grothues second and young Tom West number 65 KTM in third.

85cc/150cc 12-u16 Yrs. Caleb Grothues WAJMCC, blitz the field with three straight wins Mat Fabry second and Mitchell Outram third.

85cc/150cc 9-u12 Yrs. Brilliant riding Regan Duffy WJMC first Corben Weinert second and Jai Gimenez. third.

65cc 7-u12 Yrs. Regan Duffy WJMC first Corben Weinert second and Christian Silvestro third place.

50cc Auto 7-9 Yrs. Jake Harvey WJMC first with three wins West Reid second and third Seann Arrowsmith.

50cc Auto 4-u9 Yrs. Demo Non- Competitive. Holly Tapper, Chantz Napier, Jake Rumens, Tyson Silvestro, Jedd Patterson and Brock Payne all rode fantastic and thrilled the crowd.

Race Report and Photos Supplied By Tom Offer