The WAMX Make Smoking History Junior State Round 3 was hosted by the West Australian Junior Motocross Club after unusually dry conditions the track quickly dried out and dust was an issue, but the track maintenance team worked hard all day to keep the track as damp as possible and ensure that there was still plenty of fast paced action.

It was again the 50cc Demo Class that got to showcase their talents first Charlie Butler,  Hudson Conduit, Brax Mannion, Ollie Birkitt, Ryder Bolland, Diesel Donelan, Ryder O’Grady, Jaxon O’Grady, Byron Linthorne, Jayce Stocker. Jaxon Stocker, Nicolas Lange, Reilly Anderson, Corey Shackleton, Josh Sheehan, Willow Hunt, Darcey Forrest, Caleb Tatt, Sonny Fiford and Charlie Cooper all rode like champions.

The dry track didn’t seem to worry Kayden Minear or Deacon Paice who were battling out in front of the 85cc 9-U12 years along with Seth Shackleton, and Cobey Brown.  It was Kayden who took the round win, winning all three moto’s from Deacon Paice with Seth Shackleton taking third. At this stage of the series Minear holds the Red Plate for this class with Paice just 37 points behind and Shackleton closing the gap with only 4 points separating second and third.

The 50cc Auto 7-U9 years Mason Brown who had been on fire in the previous two rounds, but with only a win in Moto 1 opened the door for Patrick Day take the top podium spot followed by Nate Tomerini and Damien Leighton in third. Brown still holds the Red Plate for the series with a 31point over Deegan Fort and Damien Leighton.

Rhys Burnett, Cody Chittick and Seth Manuel continued to impress in 100-125cc 13-U16 years Class with all three holding the lead during each moto.  It was however Rhys that took top spot on the podium by 1 point over Cody and Seth rounding out the top three. Burnett now holds the Red Plate after round 3 with a 21 point lead over Manuel and Sam Stephen moving up to third in the championship.

The 65cc 10-U12 years again it was  Kayden Minear and Deacon Paice trading places throughout the first moto Paice managed to prevail in the first moto but Kayden took the wins in the remaining two moto’s to secure the top spot on the podium, with Deacon Paice in second and Patrick Butler in third. Kayden Minear is the series leader followed by Deacon Paice only 15 points behind with Patrick Butler now in third.

The younger class 65cc 7-10 years saw Seth Shackleton on his home track took out wins in all three moto’s, leading Leah Rimbas who continued  her form from the last round in second place, Indy Radcliffe holding on to third place. Shackleton holds a commanding lead in the series with 60 separating him and Connor Wiese and Indy Radcliffe only 5 points behind second place in third.

The 85/150cc 12-U16 Years Class, there was some great racing in this class but Liam Atkinson is in great form taking straight moto wins for the day ahead of Jake Turner and Camball McMahon. Liam Atkinson now holds the Red Plate 34 points ahead of Brock Flynn with Jake Turner third.

With the Quads 90cc Competition 8-U12 years at this round the racing between Keenan Murphy and Nichole McDonnell was closer, but Keenan still taking wins in moto’s to take our the number one spot followed by Nichole McDonnell in second and Sari Lough in third. Murphy holds only 35 point lead over McDonnell with Lough a further 20 points behind.

The Quad Up to 250cc Competition 12-U16 Years it was Jae Dowsett out leading the pack and again had with wins in all three moto, and again it Flynn Burton, Joshua McQuade and Brooke Hall were all left to fight it out for the minor placings, Hall looked good in the first moto but mechanical issues during the day she was forced further down the order.  Dowsett taking first place overall with Burton in second and McQuade rounding out the top three in third. This reflects the championship standings with Dowsett leading by 31 points over Burton and McQuade a further 17 points behind.

The 128cc-150cc/200cc-250cc 13-U16 Years this class is always one to watch and at this round it was Cody Chittick, Seth Manuel and Rhys Burnett who gave some of the day’s best racing.  Chittick managing to take first on the day with Burnett only 2 points behind in second and Manuel a further 3 points behind in third. Currently Rhys Burnett holds the Red Plate for the series with Conan Forrester 13 points and Will Rush moving in to third.

The next round of the series will be at the Bunbury Motorcycle Club, on Saturday the 21st July 2018.  Entries are open until the 7th July 2018 after this date late fees apply so get your entries in so you don’t miss out on seeing how the series unfolds at the next round.

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.