As the fog rolled out to reveal and well prepped track in prime condition for the Final Round of WAMX Make Smoking History Junior State MX Championships at Coastal Park the home of the Coastal Motorcycle Club.

With the unfortunate cancellation of the previous round it was all down to this round, the pits were a buzz with excitement and you could see the determination on the young riders faces at riders brief, they were itching to get out on track and get racing.

First on the gate were the 85cc/150cc 9-U12 years and it was Kayden Minear that would dominate this class again with wins in all three Moto’s, Dylan Walsh put up a tough fight hanging on to the second place for the day, with Jordan Minear sharing the podium with his brother in third.  It wasn’t enough to make any moves in the championship and with his efforts on the day Dylan Walsh secured the Championship win with Deacon Paice in second and Seth Clark in third.

The 50cc Auto 7-U9 years would be next to tackle the challenges of the sand track which saw Seth Shackleton in some fast paced racing take out straight wins to finish on the top spot on the podium, with Sonny Pellicano close behind and back from injury Ryder Matthews-Taylor would round out the podium. Seth Shackleton had an impressive lead going into this round and this saw him win the Championship with Sonny Pellicano in second and Declan McGhee not far behind in third for the series.

Next were the young guns in the 100-125cc 13-U15 years and it was no surprise that with the awesome skills these riders have developed, it was Corben Weinert who won all three moto’s for the day, with Seth Manuel hot on his heels in second place and Cody Richards taking third for the day.  At the end of the day it was Weinert to be crowned Champion for 2017 with consistent riding all year, Conan Forrester 62 points behind in second for the year and surprise package Seth Manuel in third.

Unfortunately for the 100-125cc 15 years due to injury and bike problems there wasn’t enough riders to constitute a class although they still raced on the day and there was still plenty of bar banging action which saw Jacob Daniels take all three race wins with Tahlia O’Hare nipping at his heels all day, and Jack Court making his podium debut in third.  Jacob Daniels had enough points to secure the Championship win with Tahlia O’Hare in second place and Troy Austin had a hard fought third for the series.

It was all action when the 65cc 7-U10 years hit the track, this class was tight on points for the minor placings going into this round and Kayden Minear came out firing  and secured the overall win on the day, with Seth Shackleton following closely in second place and Kai McGinty taking third spot on the podium.  However with time out from the series it wasn’t enough to take the Championship away from Seth Shackleton making it his second Championship for the season, with Kayden Minear in second place and hanging on by the 9 points Kai McGinty in third.

The older class 65cc 10-U12 years also proved tightly contested over the year, with some great battles between Deacon Paice and Seth Clark, however the sandy surface at Coastal seemed to suit Seth seeing him take the top spot on the podium with Tate Paganini in second and Deacon Paice rounding out the top three for the day.  Our newest Champion for this year in this class is Deacon Paice, with only 30 point separating him from Seth Clark in second and Tate Paganini only 15 points behind.

The 85/150cc 12-U16 years had shown some fantastic close racing all year and there was no doubt it would come down to the final moto’s on the day.  Seth Manuel held a slim 16 points lead over Conan Forrester, but with straight moto wins for the day Seth held first place for the round,  with a back in form Laim Atkinson in second place and Conan taking third. The deal was sealed for Seth Manual locking in the Championship win for the series with Conan Forrester having to settle for second place with consistent riding for the series Brock Flynn took third.

Our Demo 50cc riders were out on track showing the skills they have learned over the year and with those little wheels the sand was tough going for some of these little champs. However Jai Errey, Blake Mannion, Marco Rizza, Deegan Fort, Patrick Day, Jordyn Adams, Sonny Fiford, Hunter Davies and Riona Schmid did a great job out there and it was great to see the future champions of motocross having fun.

As the day drew to a close it was the 128-150cc/200-250cc 13-U16 years that would provide the final moto of the day to finish off a spectacular year of racing. It was again Corben Weinert in terrific form that would take all three moto wins for the round ahead of Joe Di Giulio in second and Jacob Daniels third.  With the results of the round reflecting the Championship positions with Weinert the new Champion for this class from Di Giulio and Daniels.

WAMX would like to congratulate all the Champions and their fellow riders on the their efforts throughout the Championship it has been an action packed series. Thank you to all the Sponsors, Officials, Volunteers, Parents and Riders for all your help and support without you all this event wouldn’t happen. We look forward to seeing you all on the 14th October for the WAMX Presentations, don’t forget to register:

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.