The anticipation is building and the start of the 2014 Smarter than smoking WAMX Junior Championships are almost upon us again.
Welcome back to all those returning as we say good luck to last years juniors, now senior riders and give a big welcome to the new faces joining us for the first time. Most of us are now old hands at it and have the routine down, which is lucky because we all need to be well packed for the first round as we make our way out to the hard pack track of Kalgoorlie.Having just held a successful Open, Kalgoorlie MCC is looking well on it’s way to hosting a fantastic opening round for the juniors and the seniors second round over the Easter long weekend. Having been a couple of years since the juniors headed out that far, it should make a great change from the city tracks, long and fast with lots of jumps and corners to test the skills of all the riders. Home track rider Connor Teirney is my bet, but who knows who will step up to challenge him. It will be, for sure, a great days racing and it is likely your bike will keep a little Kalgoorlie track with them through the whole season as that red dirt never leaves you!!

The canteen will be open early for all your breaky/caffeine needs and the bar a little later on. Camping at the track is always a fun, carefree atmosphere and the town is plenty big enough for us rowdy mx crowd.
Pits will open early and they fill fast so be patient and considerate when getting a pitsite.

A huge ‘Thank you’ needs to go out to our sponsors for backing us again this year, Healthway and Smarter than Smoking as well as MWA,, True Spirit, Sports Power Kalgoorlie for their support. To all the Officials and Volunteers who have put in the hard yards behind the scenes and to the clubs for putting up their hand to host a round.

Last years champions…
50 Auto- 3rd Bailey Smith, 2nd Tylar Solomon, 1st Liam Atkinson
65cc 7-U10- 3rd Seth Manuel, 2nd Dylan Vivian, 1st Jasyn Roney
65cc 10-U13- 3rd Corben Weinert, 2nd Jacob Daniels, 1st Regan Duffy
85cc 9-U12- 3rd Jacob Daniels, 2nd Regan Duffy, 1st Navrin Grothues
85cc 12-U14-3rd Mitchell Outram, 2nd Tom West, 1st Caleb Grothues
85cc 14-U16- 3rd Jared Connor, 2nd Jaden Tate, 1st Corey Draper
100cc/125cc 13-U15- 3rd Connor Teirney, 2nd Justin Hart, 1st Baylee Webb
100cc/125cc 15yrs- 3rd Jake Lee, 2nd Tommy Samson, 1st Jacob Schaafsma
128-150cc/250cc 13-U15- 1st Connor Teirney, 2nd Liam Whisler, 3rd Max Vlasich
128-150cc/250cc 15yrs- 3r Jesse Free, 2nd Ryan Scarlett, 1st Jake Pruitti

Here’s to a safe, fun, fantastic year on the track…see you all at Kalgoorlie, Saturday 19th April!